## Northeastern Jurisdiction Native American Ministries Committee



## **Executive Committee:**

Pat Parent, Abenaki/Penobscot Chairperson New England

Bethany Printup-Davis, Tuscarora Vice Chairperson, Upper New York

Jennifer Kerby, Non-Native Secretary Peninsula/Delaware

Kae Wilbert, Cherokee Treasurer Upper New York

Todd Warfield, Abenaki Communications Chairperson New England

RagghiRain, Eastern Cherokee Advocacy Chairperson Peninsula/Delaware

Sherry Wack, Non-Native Advocacy Secretary Eastern Pennsylvania

Cynthia Kent, Southern Ute Nominating Chairperson, Greater New Jersey Approved and Adopted October 2020

The Book of Discipline of the United Methodist Church states that Conference Committees on Native American Ministries should, where possible, consist of a majority of Native Americans. However, means of Native identity varies within the Federal, State, and Tribal entities. This has caused confusion and often reflects differing worldviews imposed on Native people. The Northeastern Jurisdiction Native American Ministries Committee (NJENAMC) supports the rights of Native peoples and cultures to determine their own identities.

There are many Native Peoples who are members of the United Methodist Church. We welcome people from federally and state recognized tribes. We welcome people who are not enrolled in a Tribe because they are of multiple Native heritages. We welcome people who live in relationship with a native community whether tribal or other Native communities.

The Northeastern Jurisdiction Native American Ministries Committee sees the primary means of identity as being in relationship with one's people, nation, or native community. As such, NEJNAMC will seek the direction of Native peoples and their communities and encourage such individuals to assume membership and leadership roles within our CoNAMs and other communities."

Email: nejnamc@gmail.com • website: https://www.nejnamc.org